Scrapbook Ideas

Tips & Tricks. Ideas & Inspiration. Resources for Scrapbookers.

Technique: Hidden Journaling

Bruiser Bear

Credits Cardstock: Canson & Making Memories; patterned papers: Festival kit by Shabby Princess; digital letter & number stamps: Michelle Coleman; black ink: Stampin’ Up; fonts: Eight Fifteen & 1942 report; Misc: ribbon.

There are lots of reasons people use “hidden journaling” on their scrapbook pages.  Whether you want a clean and simple look or you already have too many items on the page leaving no room for text, or perhaps you just don’t like your handwriting.  Maybe you just want to conceal the journaling because it is very personal. Whatever your reason, it can be really fun to discover ways to hide “secret” journaling on your page. You’ll find the technique used here as well as several others below.

Tips & Tricks:

  • The photos I used are very peaceful, so I used “white space” (areas with no pattens or embellishments) on the page to give your eye a place to rest.
  • In order to get all of my measurements just right, I planned the page out on the computer using a 12×12 grid. Then I trimmed my papers accordingly.
  • Because I had everything planned out on the computer, I was able to place my title and date perfectly before printing them directly onto the cardstock.
  • I wanted the digital stamps (bear and 2006) to blend well with the page, so I based their color on the patterned papers. I used my eyedropper tool in photoshop to select a brown color from the digital paper, then I adjusted the brightness and saturation to make it a little darker before digitally “stamping” the text.  

Technique: Hidden Journaling

Hidden Text on a Tag

My hidden text is printed on a tag and tucked behind the main photo. I knew I wanted my tag to be about 3 inches by 5 inches, so when I typed out my text, I made sure it fit neatly into a text box that was 2.75 by 4 inches. Once I had printed the text onto the cardstock, I cropped it, clipped the corners, and punched a hole on the top. Then I inked the edges and tied on a ribbon.

To make sure my tag stays in place, I made a little pocket for it behind the photo out of adhesive tape. Once my papers were all attached to the page, I placed the tag under the photo to decide where it would go. Then, holding them in place, I flipped both pieces over and very lightly traced an outline of the tag on the back of the photo. Lastly, I just ran adhesive tape along the outline, so that when I adhered the photo, a pocket was formed that keeps the tag from sliding around. If you have an extra thick tag, you can use foam tape to make sure your tag will fit. Experiment with this idea and have fun with it!

More Hidden Journaling Ideas:

Here’s a great article from scrapjazz.com that has ideas for using tags, flaps, envelopes and mini-books for hidden journaling.

This is a neat step-by-step guide for making a journaling pull-out found at Creating Keepsakes.

I also found these journaling flap how-to’s from DIY Scrapbooking.

If you have any great ideas of your own please leave a comment and share them with us!

2 responses to “Technique: Hidden Journaling

  1. Lesley April 3, 2007 at 10:41 am

    Awesome entry! Love that page and your instructions….you have a great blog that looks very interesting! Bookmarking it now!

  2. Austin of Sundrip April 17, 2007 at 12:14 am

    I think this would be neat for an art portfolio too. When I print off my artwork (I do digital stuff only)I could actually do some sort of hidden journaling. I like to give my art as a gift so say I wanted to make a book of a few art pieces but I didn’t want to clutter up the page with text I could use this hidden journaling thing here.

    I have no photos to do scrapping with but when it comes to artwork I’ve got a ton of it and I think some of these ideas can be used to create art books as well as family memories. You’ve got really great ideas here.

    I don’t intend to be all depressing or anything but for people that don’t have family to put in a book these ideas can be altered to create gifts from things they’ve created. Like for instance a small collection of artwork to a friend or something could be customized using some of these ideas here.

    smiles to you and yours,
    Austin of Sundrip

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 463 other followers

