Scrapbook Ideas

Tips & Tricks. Ideas & Inspiration. Resources for Scrapbookers.

Featured Scrapper: Irene Tan (Scrapperlicious)!

Irene Tan It has been soooo long since my last featured scrapper interview, so I am excited jump back into doing these!

Today I am so happy to feature Irene Tan, also known as Scrapperlicious :)! I stumbled upon Irene’s blog one day when I saw her link in a scrapbooking forum. I was totally amazed by her work, and I have been a fan of hers ever since. She has the ability to turn each and every scrapbooking project into a complete work of art using all kinds of creative means, and the best part of it all is that she explains her techniques in detail on her blog, so we can all try them out too :)! At first glance her work is fantastic, but it is even more amazing when you take a closer look and realize that the majority of the colors and patterns on her pages are created by hand using inks and other artistic methods.

I wanted to know more about Irene and the inspirations behind her art, so I have asked her a few questions and she was willing to give us an inside look:

First of all, is there anything about yourself and your family that you’d like to share with other scrappers?

Well, I’m a mom to two miracle blessings and a wife to a wonderful husband.

When did you start scrapbooking? What first made you interested in scrapbooking?

As most other scrappers, my first motive of scrapping is to document down the milestones of my son. During then, I didn’t know that scrapbooking had grown into such depth and fun in other countries till I visited the States in 2004. Therefore, my first scrapping with sb products was around end of 2005. I did took a year off in 2006 with some pregnancy complications and only got back to it in 2007.

Are you a 100% paper scrapper, or do you do digital scrapping as well?

I started off at a paper scrapper and later down the road, I’ve tried some digital scrapping on my son’s projects (while he’s on the Reggio programme with me). But when I start scrapping again in 2007, I’ve found myself having lots of fun with all the different kinds of art mediums and interesting new products for crafting and scrapping.

Where do you get inspiration and ideas for scrapbooking? What inspires you to scrap?

Most of the time my inspiration came directly from the photos. Each photos has it’s story and I tried to interpret or read that story. That’s what normally inspire me. I do occasionally scrap using sketches but still implement other elements using this inspiration. ie. colours, embellies, textures and overall presentation. It’s more of, putting my expressions and thoughts through my work and hoping others would see that too. My family is my first and most important reason to scrap. Besides that, I always find the need to scrap when I have an idea of a technique or simply to play with some fun products.

Your scrapbook pages have so much intricate detail – are they difficult or time consuming to create?

This actually depends on each individual. To me, it’s not considered difficult at all or time consuming at all. First of all, in May, Style’s The Word had organized a challenge on using my techniques to create layouts and I could see that most of the players had no problem at all using those techniques and all entries are just amazing. Secondly, I wouldn’t consider it time consuming if one is really enjoying the process.

Do you have any advice for other scrappers who would like to make pages like yours?


As most of you might have known, my most favourite words are “Scrap with your heart and don’t forget to have fun too!’ These words will carry you far if you stick to it. Everyone has their own styles and preferences. The most important thing is to enjoy and be proud of it!

What favorite scrapbooking tip, trick or technique do you use most often?

This is a rather hard question for me as I love all kinds of techniques. I’m always trying to find new techniques to do things and have fun. But I must say that till to-date, my passion towards ink is still irreplaceable.

Thanks so much, Irene, for sharing with us :)!!!

OK, Ready to see some of Irene’s work? Here are a few samples from her blog – be sure to click on the images to see more detailed photos and descriptions of each project on her blog :).

Wow – pretty inspiring, huh? If you’d like to learn more about Irene Tan (Scrapperlicious), check out the links below:

Scrapperlicious Resume

Gallery at Scrapbook.com

Scrapperlicious.blogspot.com

2 responses to “Featured Scrapper: Irene Tan (Scrapperlicious)!

  1. Jamie July 23, 2008 at 7:06 am

    Great interview! She does have some great stuff. Hope you are having a great week!

  2. sharon dale July 23, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Wow, what amazing work Irene does. Thanks for the link up and I’ve bookmarked it to go check it out in more detail as I must get to bed – it’s 1.30am here in Australia!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 476 other followers

