Scrapbook Ideas

Tips & Tricks. Ideas & Inspiration. Resources for Scrapbookers.

Use Dark Papers to Make Your Photos Pop!

Here is another page I made a while back that I haven’t shared with you yet!
Carousel

Credits Everything is from the Feeling Blue kit by Heidi Williams available at Weeds  & Wildflowers Design except the green alpha, which is from the Being Me kit by Gina Marie Huff also at Weeds & Wildflowers Design. Font: Century Gothic.

Tips & Tricks

  • The dark colors I used on my page help the bright, sparkly photo really stand out.
  • I used highly decorative elements because I wanted to reflect the festive mood of the photo.
  • The blue circle helps anchor the photo and draw your eye to the title. It also provides repetition, because it is symbolic of the carousel.
  • A quick and easy way to add a lot of decoration to a page is by using an element overlay, like the flowery one I used here. All of the flowers and swirls on the bottom half of the page are part of one digital element!

Techniques Used

Screen TechniqueI didn’t really use a lot of new techniques for this page, but in case you missed them in the past I thought I’d show you where to find some of the ones I did use. Check here to see how I used the shape tool to make the blue circle. I also did a few editing techniques on the photo. For example, I used the screen blending mode to lighten the picture panels on the canopy of the carousel. I also adjusted the levels, contrast and color of the overall image. You can learn more about these techniques here. All in all, this was a fun, quick page to put together - and I love the result!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 463 other followers

