Scrapbook Ideas

Tips & Tricks. Ideas & Inspiration. Resources for Scrapbookers.

Featured Scrapper: Catherine (chud23)!

Catherine

Today I’d like to introduce you to a truly gifted scrapper named Catherine, who you may know by the screen name Chud23! If you frequent online digital scrapbooking galleries, you have most likely seen her beautiful artistry – and if you’re like me, you’ve probably added more than one of her pages to your “favorites” :)! Since I have been so inspired by Catherine’s creativity, and have learned so much just by looking at her pages, I thought she would be a perfect candidate for my new “Featured Scrapper” series! Catherine kindly consented to answer a few questions, so let’s get to know a little bit more about this talented and interesting scrapper! First of all, I asked her to tell us a little about herself and her family…

I am French, and live currently in Finland! I have moved quite often during my life and I think I have lived in 10 different countries on three continents! I have a wonderful husband and 3 wonderful children aged 12 to 19.

What creative teams are you on or have you been on? Have you won any major scrapbooking awards or contests?

My CTs: I am lucky to be in the most wonderful CTs and I feel so privileged to be working for amazing designers and be part of such wonderful groups of talented, kind and wonderful women! Christina Renee, Weeds and Wildflowers, Two Sisters Designs, Paint-the-Moon, Emily Merritt, Kim Smet, Michelle Pearson (photo actions) and in September I get to be an Angel with Nancy Comelab! In December, I also get the fabulous opportunity to be a goddess at SA for a month!

Major scrapbooking awards or contests : I won a  DST scrappers choice  award and one of my page was also featured at Disc Talk Radio! And I have a big surprise for October but can’t say anything yet! This is so exciting!

How long have you been scrapbooking? How did you start?

My first hobby was photography. In 2005, I was looking for a new way of presenting my photos and found on internet, 2 Peas. I just loved the site and got inspired to start scrapping my photos! But then at the time , I was lacking space and time so I started to look at some  digital scrapbooking pages, bought photoshop, started to scrap one or 2 pages in January of this year but really started to produce LOs in March, April!

Are you 100% digital or do you use paper as well?

Started with papers but now I am 100% digital! Just love the freedom and creativity that go with digi scrapbooking!

Your screen name is chud23. How did you come up with this name, and do you have any other online aliases?

No no other screen name! chud comes from my maiden name and 23 is our family lucky number, my 3 kids and myself have all been born on the 23rd of a month!

Where do you get inspiration and ideas for scrapbooking? What motivates you?

Mainly from my photos, I also love to look at magazines and galleries! Playing the praise game is a good way to discover fabulous pages! I would love to leave printed books full of my LOs to my children and future grandchildren, what wonderful memories for them!

Do you have any favorite books, magazines or websites that are especially helpful?

I love the French books by Scrap Attitude (www.creapassions.com), they are mainly for paper scrappers but are full of inspiration! DAM is my favourite digi magazine and my favourites websites are DST, SA, CRD and MSA!

The photos you use on your scrapbook pages are always so creative and beautiful – are there any tips you can share with fellow scrappers about how to capture great photos?

Thanks for the compliment, I have always loved to take photos of my children and surroundings! I still haven’t learned to shoot manually, so I am not the best one to share tips!!!!

What type of camera and photo editing software do you use?

I have a Panasonic, I would love to upgrade for a Canon ES but have to wait a bit! I use Photoshop CS2.

Please share your all-time favorite scrapbooking tip, trick or technique that you’ve learned!

I learned everyday from different scrappers, so everyday I learn little tricks or techniques! I have still so much to learn! CRD team forum is just fabulous because everybody is sharing design and scrapping tips: that is where I have learned about Layer masks, can’t  believe I was scrapping without them before! I also love to use all the layers effects  (multiply soft light, overlay…) and play with them all the time! At WW forum, there is also a great thread where scrappers share what they have learned and I just love it!

Thanks for sharing Catherine, and thanks for letting us know about so many great designers and sites to go see!!

I have chosen a few of my favorite layouts by Catherine to share with you below, click on any of the images to see it in the gallery, or just click here to be taken to Catherine’s main gallery! Enjoy!!

Believe

Fun Summer Memories

Love at First Sight

Paris in 1938

Edited on October 3rd, 2007 to add: Now we know what the big surprise for October was! Catherine is the Treat of the Month at Sweet Shoppe Designs! Go check it out!

6 responses to “Featured Scrapper: Catherine (chud23)!

  1. janmary September 19, 2007 at 4:06 pm

    Loved this post – thanks for sharing Catherine (Chud23) with us – I always love to see her layouts. Guess I need to go learn layers!

  2. Jen Ulasiewicz September 20, 2007 at 9:42 am

    Catherine has been one of my favorite scrappers and how wonderful was it to pop in here today and see this interview! Thanks for sharing so much about yourself Catherine! You are a lovely telented lady! :) Love the LO’s of hers you chose, TFS!

  3. Pingback: 9/21/07 What is out there today? « Scrap Praise

  4. Annie (laughterqueen) September 21, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    LOVED this interview! Catherine was my very first digi-scrapping idol!! She totally inspires me!

  5. Beth (kewl_jive) October 6, 2007 at 9:44 am

    Congrats for being the Treat of the Month for October at SSD. I always LOVE your pages, Catherine. Congrats on all your achievements, you totally deserve it! :) Mwah

  6. Emmanuelle PROT December 9, 2007 at 9:22 am

    hello Catherine !
    Super contente de te revoir sur ce site ! J’espère que la Finlande te plaît j’ai eu des news de Hongrie :-) A bientôt et avec grand plaisir pour un portrait dans la Scrapastuce : I love your pages !
    a bientôt
    Emmanuelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 463 other followers

